Skip to content

Why I Went Raw

July 3, 2012

Like most Americans, I grew up eating crap. And ‘crap’ is a nice way to put it. If I were to really describe it, I would say that I grew up, for the most part, eating so-called food devoid of nutrition…dead, full of sugar, dangerous fats, pus, mucus, chemicals and drugs.

The scary thing is, I was unaware of it for 39 years. Sure, I knew that lots of stuff that I ate wasn’t healthy, but to REALLY know what it’s composed of is something entirely different, and life changing.

Everyone around me, all my life, was unhealthy. I never knew anyone who was health oriented…and not just diet-wise. Even today, despite the increase of awareness regarding health, the ones that I do know today that walk a truly healthy life are very few and far between. You see, health is all encompassing. It’s not just about diet and exercise. That’s something that didn’t click with me until 2009, when I started to turn my life around.

Thanks to Facebook (which, by the way, I always say, has been the best university I’ve ever attended), I began to learn about health, through other like minded people and pages devoted to health. Articles on websites and YouTube helped tremendously too. As I began to research veganism, and subjecting myself to facing the horrible reality of factory farming, then to the disturbing facts about processed foods, and also to the sinister existence of Monsanto and GMO’s, it became apparent to me that my life was never going to be the same again. Ignorance is bliss? I beg to differ. Ignorance is just plain ruinous.

My eyes have been opened, never to be shut again. And while looking back on every poison I fed my body with…the so-called food, right down to the toxic thoughts, it’s still a wonder to me that I never had any illnesses that required at least a few days in the hospital. I’ve been extremely blessed and have skated by with nothing more serious than walking pneumonia at one time (which needless to say, made me want to die).

After learning what I’ve learned (and with more to learn, no doubt), I’ve come to the conclusion, thanks to the assistance of my God given intuition, that a raw, organic, vegan diet is the diet for mankind. It’s optimal…the pinnacle of nutrient density for the human body.

Is it easily achieved? For most, no. For most people, it is a process…something to work up to. Is it doable? Absolutely, and anywhere in the country. One goal that I’ve set myself to accomplish is to help others build their own organic garden. This, I believe, is key in empowering ourselves and breaking free from our dependence on supermarkets and even on farmers markets. By growing our own food, we can have access to organic fruits and vegetables in nutrient rich soil, and pick them and eat them quickly, to benefit from the nutrients available then and there, as the more time that passes between the picking and eating, the more the nutrients disappear.

By adopting this kind of diet, I’ve also simultaneously adopted a more calm demeanor. I used to have a very hot temper and get upset at the slightest thing. I used to worry all the time. I had toxic, dark thoughts as well. There wasn’t much in life that excited me. I was the biggest cynic ever. I now know that this was very much tied to the diet I ate.

I’ve reversed the aging process and continue to do so. At 42 years young, I feel better and younger than I did at 25. My outlook on life has done a 180…I look forward to the coming years, as I continue to evolve and transform. I love to learn and rarely get upset. I almost don’t recognize myself, and that’s a very good thing. I do know, though, that I am me…the me that I was born to be…that I started out as a baby, but regressed instead of progressed through the years, as life happened. The raw, organic, vegan diet and lifestyle that has become part of me has saved my life, and every day I’m so grateful for it. I’m continually humbled by it and want nothing more than for others to gift themselves with the same blessing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2012 1:29 pm

    Well said Renee, heartfelt, appreciate your new found and hopefully never ending wisdom.

  2. Kris Iselin-Bradley permalink
    July 3, 2012 2:12 pm

    I love it! How motivating! I am about 75% raw but 100% vegan. I tend to follow the macrobiotic principles in a lot of my cooking (balance) but during the hotter season I like more raw. We now have a large, organic vegetable garden – a project we have been working on for over a year! I have also noticed that the more raw I eat, the less toxic thoughts happen. Thank you Renee for your words of wisdom. I love reading about your journey. Keep writing!!!

    • July 3, 2012 3:25 pm

      thanks Kris! in the winter time, I don’t know if or how much cooked veggies I will eat but I don’t anticipate much. and you’re so right…the toxic thoughts minimize a lot when eating more raw. how wonderful that you have your own organic veggie garden…yay!! and will definitely keep writing! 🙂

    • April 2, 2013 5:04 pm

      wow thank you Kris…I haven’t checked my blog in soooo long, which explains my very delayed response to you!

      I agree…in the summer, it’s the easiest to be raw, and I definitely feel the difference 🙂

Leave a Reply

