Skip to content

The End is Near

February 6, 2012

Some of my favorite places to shop are discount stores like TJ Maxx, Marshall’s and Ross. It’s kind of like a treasure hunt…like garage sales and thrift stores, but for new items. I like the fact that you just never know what you’re going to run into.

Today, I picked up a pair of low-top Converse All Stars in purple (with lavender laces!). These shoes have been my all time favorite sneakers to wear, and I have no clue as to why I haven’t worn them in about 20 years. I noticed that they’re insanely priced nowadays (maybe that’s why!), so I scored them for a really good deal.

But…what’s up with the long tongue, displaying the All Star label? I guess it HAS been a long time…they never had these before. There’s a button that you snap underneath it, to stay permanently there. Guess what? I’m taking the scissors and cutting that off. Oh yes, I am. Someone in the design department wasn’t thinking clearly. You don’t mess with a good thing.

Which brings me to an update on my fast. I’m on day 36 of my 40 day fast. I feel fantastic, and although on day 30 I felt that my cravings for gluten disappeared and my mission was accomplished, I decided to just stick it out for the remaining ten days, for good measure. Even I still can’t believe I’ve made it this far. It’s almost become too easy, I’m happy to say.

What’s on the horizon, after day 40? A commitment to raw, living foods, is what. I’ve been incorporating raw foods in my diet since mid 2009, and I’ve slowly added more and more of them in, as time has passed. There’s been days where I’ve actually eaten nothing but raw, living foods, and those, needless to say, have been the days that I’ve felt at my very best, in every way, except of course, when fasting. Why, then, have I not stuck to a high raw or mostly raw vegan diet, consistently? The answer is that gluten, my addiction, always got me pulled back into eating  junk and cooked foods. You can read about it here. When I hear people say that being vegan is too hard, they don’t know what hard is until they try to avoid cooked foods. It’s highly addicting, and much more difficult to stay away from than merely meat and dairy, I’ve found.

So back to my point of messing with a good thing: I’ve witnessed firsthand how fantastic, how alive and vibrant I feel and look on raw living foods. I’ve also witnessed first hand how lethargic, how tired, and how much older I feel and look on cooked, dead foods, whether it’s meat and dairy, or vegetables, gluten and processed “foods” (I have a hard time agreeing that processed foods are real foods, sorry).

My commitment to eating a mostly raw, living foods diet is going to stay consistent this time around, because I’ve been able to nail what it was that held me back or sent me back to the type of foods that don’t work for me.  There’s nothing like consciousness and making a decision, that creates in me the will to carry something through.

Will I allow myself to eat cooked foods like potatoes, sweet potatoes, and quinoa, especially in cold weather? The answer is a resounding Yes. I see many benefits to those foods, and I will not deny myself that. What I have decided, though, is that a high raw, vegan diet is beyond good for me…it’s optimal. There’s a tshirt that I want to get, from Hail Merry foods, and it says Eat Raw, Love Longer. That pretty much sums it up for me. My health, my inner peace, my ability to deal with everyday problems, all benefit from living foods, more than I can explain to someone who only knows the SAD diet. The end of the yo-yo-ing between high raw and mostly cooked foods and junk is near. Some things you must experience, in order to understand. I’m no longer messing with this good thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

