Skip to content

Breaking Bread, in a Way :)

January 24, 2012

Day 23 of my 40 day fast is ending, and it’s almost become too easy. I don’t want to make it sound like it’s a cakewalk (pardon the pun), because there’s definitely moments here and there, where I would like to join others in a meal. When I’m by myself, eating is not much of a thought.

The other day I was at the farmer’s market with my friend Dara (who, by the way, has an amazing YouTube channel full of inspiring raw vegan recipes and lifestyle tips. I highly encourage you to subscribe. Here’s the link). We were at the stand run by the raw vegan restaurant Euphoria Loves Rawvolution. It was getting near closing time and they had a bunch of raw vegan breakfast burritos that I wish I could have helped them get rid of. Times like those are really the only times I feel like eating.

Speaking of burritos…if you read my other blog post titled Ahh..Stress, you’ll remember that I talked about one of my comfort foods, the burrito, that ends up being a discomfort to me, after I eat them, even if they are a healthier version of any that a typical SAD diet outlet sells. I know, beyond a doubt, that the main culprit is the tortilla, containing gluten.

I’ve known for a long time that my biggest weakness, when it comes to food, is bread. Some people can eat a pint or two or three of ice cream in one sitting. With sweets, I’m happy with just a spoon of ice cream (vegan, of course) or just one cookie. With bread, or gluten, more specifically, I can eat way too much of it, and STILL be hungry, which sets me off into eating more junk…specifically msg and other excitotoxin-laden potato chips. Boiled potatoes, I have no problem with. It’s those lovely added chemicals in those processed “foods” that throw me into the path of self-destruction.

Gluten is a protein found in so many grains, which in turn, is found in so many bread products. It took a while to put the pieces together.  I knew that oatmeal never satisfied me. Oatmeal, another gluten product, was supposed to be good for me…and yet, it just made me hungrier. I haven’t had that in about 3 years. But bread products have been a harder thing to give up…even though the truth’s been staring at me in the face for even longer than when I woke up to what oatmeal did to me.

Here’s a good article about what gluten does to many people and how it can lead up to major problems in your body. I, thankfully, have not had any diseases, but I have also, thankfully, woken up and admitted to myself that letting myself continue to consume something that instantly affects my body in a negative way, is just asking for trouble eventually.

Knowing how great I feel when I don’t eat it, and how even greater I feel eating more raw fruits and vegetables, and my desire to increase the amount of raw foods that I eat, made me finally decide to end this addiction of mine. And when I make a decision, I stick to it, no matter how hard it may be. How I do it, is something that may get modified here and there.

I HAD THE WHAT, NOW I NEEDED THE HOW

So, to conquer this hold that gluten (which, a friend, very appropriately, said should be spelled GLUE-TON) has on me, I decided that I needed to come up with a plan that was highly effective. Over the holidays, I was contemplating on what to do. Just not buying products with gluten wasn’t going to work. Been there, done that.

Fasting was the answer. I remembered that on my first long term fast (the Master Cleanse), the day after Thanksgiving 2009, I ended up conquering my addiction to cheese. Ten days proved to be long enough to succeed. But because bread was a much stronger drug to me, I needed to bump up the days of a fast. The number 40 came to me, so that’s what I went with. And as it’s turning out, it’s looking like that number is accurate. Around the time I hit day 20, my cravings for gluten have significantly faded, and I’m very happy about that. I do anticipate the cravings to keep on decreasing, and I’m confident that they will. I just keep reminding myself and remembering the countless times that this substance has made me stumble over and over again, in my quest for optimal health.

Even once I’m back to eating, I’m very aware of the fact that I will still be tempted from time to time to eat something with gluten. I liken it to any recovering addict’s challenge to stay away from their own individual drug of choice. It’s awesome that I have options to eat other types of breads without gluten but are still delicious. If I get to the point where I do cave in, which I hope to never do, but won’t beat myself up about it, then I know that fasting is always there to set me straight again. That’s another thing I love about fasting…it regulates everything in the body, to operate as it was meant to, while helping us to grow stronger mentally and emotionally. There’s so many win-win’s with this practice, and I’m so thankful for the day that I decided that I was going to make this a regular part of my life.

Who is strong? He that can conquer his own bad habits. –Ben Franklin

Fasting is the oldest, fastest, and most effective healing method known to man. –The Miracle of Fasting by Paul and Patricia Bragg

Fasting is the greatest remedy-the physician within!  -Paracelsus, 15th century physician

Leave a Reply

