Skip to content

The Beat Goes On

January 20, 2012

Day 19 of my 40 day fast is coming to an end soon, and I’m doing very well. Tomorrow I’ll be at the halfway mark, and so far, it’s been relatively smooth. For every fast that I’ve done, they’ve all had their own unique symptoms, and this one is no different.

The first day, I had a headache for most of the day. Nothing really strong, but it was there, nonetheless, and I never get headaches. The second day I was completely lethargic. It was really hard to work, when all I wanted to do was sleep.

In the following days, I’ve had symptoms like a weird red rash on my left side of my jaw. I rubbed coconut oil on it and it disappeared within a couple of days.  I’ve also had the typical white coating on my tongue, which is almost cleared up. I have a headache right now, although it’s very slight. There was a day that I sneezed a lot. I’ve also been cold…really cold…especially in my hands. Thankfully, though, it’s been the worst only during the day when I’m working. And from what I’ve learned, it’s a sign that my energy is being directed more towards my abdomen, where it’s needed much more, so if working on the belly is what I get for the price of cold hands, I’m all for it.

I don’t know if this is a symptom, per se, but my period came so easily, and with only some slight cramping. No PMS symptoms and certainly no bloating. Ah, if only they could all be like that! But I do know that the difference in PMS symptoms when I’m eating a lot of cooked foods vs. when I’m eating a high raw diet is like night and day. When I’m eating a high raw diet, my period is almost like it’s been on this fast…very similar, which is just another reason why I’m determined to be more consistent with eating a high raw diet once I’m done with this fast. I’m also determined to not go through what most women do when they go through “the change”. I believe, and I’ve heard many testimonials, that a mostly raw vegan diet will practically eliminate menopausal symptoms. Talk about an incentive!

One thing about fasting is that I hardly ever find it boring. I guess I love being challenged too much. Much more than physical, this is a mental challenge, and I’m someone who has always been fascinated by anything requiring mental toughness.

I’m curious about what lies ahead of me in the next 20 days. I’m not sure how much more housecleaning is up the road for me, other than a couple of coffee enemas that I intend to do next weekend. THAT’S going to be an interesting experience…stay tuned!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2012 5:44 am

    PMS/periods and fasting….totally. Like that’s totally why it’s so much easier. 🙂 Good for you. I’ll be joining you soon, hardcore.

    • January 20, 2012 5:46 am

      absolutely, E. it’s almost like it’s not even a bother..and it’s much shorter too…yay!

Leave a Reply

